zuloohopper.blogg.se

Truck king pins
Truck king pins









truck king pins

The steering wheel moves the front wheels through their range of motion quite easily. Likewise the steering column, and likewise the steering gear box itself. When the front axle is jacked up, the kingpins and associated steering linkage have near zero friction. The solution to this problem continues to elude me. Tightening my top kingpin nut should pull the pin up into the axle and seat it firmly, so that the pin will then turn in the bushings, not in the axle. The tapered mount is how Mack truck kingpins work. PS Just researched and answered my own question. Here's a question.Assuming that fixing the kingpin in the axle is the usual method, is doing it with a taper common ? Fingers crossed that I won't need new kingpins.Įven if the taper is worn a little they should still seat firmly if I make the necessary adjustments. I'm hoping that I can get the kingpins out (should be easy since they are tapered), clean up or replace the bushings, and put it back together with the kingpins rotating in the bushings, not in the axle. So I think I've figured out the problem without getting dirty ! With the axle on jackstands, if someone loosened the upper nut on the kingpin, gave it a rap, and then forced grease into it, they might think they were freeing up the pin.In fact, they would be loosening the pin from the axle, where it is supposed to be fixed, and leaving the top and bottom bushings frozen. It stands to reason that this (if it's loose) would rotate fine until you put weight on it, at which point it would be pretty stiff. If it is instead rotating in the axle (where it is supposed to be staionary), that's where the kingpin is tapered. So here's my guess.the kingpin may be seized in the steering knuckle bushings where it is supposed to be rotating. It is the bushed top and bottom, the upper bushing being smaller than the lower, since in between the two it is tapered.

truck king pins

The kingpin appears to be mounted in the axle with a taper, which seems like a good design when it's time for replacement.

truck king pins

That may help me to understand how the kingpin assembly is supposed to work, and how it might be malfunctioning.įirst off, there is no thrust bearing, just a thrust washer.

TRUCK KING PINS MANUALS

I am fortunate in that I have detailed parts manuals for this truck with excellent diagrams.











Truck king pins